Aside

Opening Ceremony

IMG_0008

Ricky : “Me and Mom and Paige went to the opening ceremony of this year’s Special Olympics New York Winter Games. My mom explained to me why this olympics was special. The athletes have ‘special needs’ and lots of times need extra help doing things and figuring things out, right Mom?”
Me : “That’s right. Did you have a good time?”
Ricky : “I did! Guys all dressed up in kilts came in playing bagpipes! Everyone was cheering for the athletes and they were cheering for themselves! A lady sang The Star Spangled Banner and I could hear the athletes singing along, too! Some of the people gave speeches. It was all very happy… but I looked over at you Mom, and you looked like you wanted to cry….”
Me : “I was trying really hard not to cry, but it wasn’t because I was sad. I was happy for everyone there and was very overwhelmed by the support that was being shown. It was an experience I will never forget.”
Ricky : “I won’t forget it either.”

IMG_0011IMG_0042

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_0027

IMG_0032

IMG_0014

For more information on the Special Olympics in New York click here

 

 

